Click this text to start editing. This block is a basic combination of a title and a paragraph. Use it to welcome visitors to your website, or explain a product or service without using an image. Try keeping the paragraph short and breaking off the text-only areas of your page to keep your website interesting to visitors.

Click Here to Add a Title

Cherie Dimaline is a member of the Georgian Bay Metis Community in Ontario who has published 5 books. Her 2017 book, The Marrow Thieves, won the Governor General’s Award and the prestigious Kirkus Prize for Young Readers, was a finalist for the White Pine Award, and was a selection for CBC’s 2018 Canada Reads. It was also named a Book of Year on numerous lists including the National Public Radio, the School Library Journal, the New York Public Library, the Globe and Mail, Quill & Quire and the CBC, and continues to be a national bestseller and has been translated into several languages. Cherie is currently working on the TV adaptation of The Marrow Thieves, recently launched her novel, an instant national bestseller, Empire of Wild with Random House (US release through William Morrow 2020), and is working on a new YA novel.

Selected Awards

-WINNER, 2018 Burt Award for First Nations, Metis and Inuit Literature

-WINNER, 2018 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award

-WINNER, 2017 Kirkus Prize for Young Readers

-WINNER, 2017 Governor General’s Literary Award for Young People’s Literature

-FINALIST 2018 White Pine Award

-FINALIST 2018 Canada Reads

-HONOR BOOK, American Indian Library Association, 2017

-BOOK OF THE CITY, London, ON, 2018

-UPPER GRAND READS selected book, 2019

-The Marrow Thieves on the following Best Books of 2017 Lists: Globe & Mail, New York Public Library, School Library Journal, American Indians in Children’s Literature, Quill & Quire, National Public Radio, Penn State Graduate School, 49th Shelf, CBC Books, Kirkus Review, Young Adult Library Services Association

-WINNER, Emerging Artist of the Year, Premier’s Excellence in the Arts Award 2014

-Shortlisted, BURT Award for First Nations, Metis and Inuit Literature, 2014

-WINNER, 2007 Fiction Book of the Year, Anskohk Aboriginal Literature Book Awards